Advice, tips and news

EYFS: What is it?

AllCareers in EducationEYFSOverseas TeachersPrimary TeachingTeaching in the UK

EYFS explanation

EYFS is the acronym for Early Years Foundation Stage, but what is it and where does it apply?

The EYFS is a framework created under the ChildCare Act of 2006 concerned with the learning, development and welfare of all children from birth to the age of five. It applies to

  • Childminders.
  • Day nurseries.
  • Playgroups and holiday play-schemes.
  • Breakfast and after school clubs.
  • School reception and nursery classes.
  • Sure Start Children’s Centres.

What are the 4 main principals of the EYFS?

  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers.
  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.

What are the 7 main learning areas of the EYFS?

According to the legislation, educational programmes must involve activities and experiences for children, as follows

  • Communication and language development – giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.
  • Physical development – providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and make healthy choices in relation to food.
  • Personal, social and emotional development – helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.
  • Literacy development – encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.
  • Mathematics  – providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces, and measure.
  • Understanding the world – guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.
  • Expressive arts and design – enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.

You can find explanations of the other key stages in the national curriculum in our Key Stage 1 blog, Key Stage 2, Key Stage 3 and Key Stage 4.

If the EYFS sounds like a teaching stage that interests you, you can browse our jobs EYFS jobs here. If you’re a UK based teacher or TA you can pre-register here and if you’re overseas make initial contact with us here.




Find your perfect job