Teach in the UK

Guide to UK Key Stages by age & year

The UK Key Stages are targets to be achieved in various subject areas as set out in the UK National Curriculum.

The UK Key Stages were first defined in 1988 Education Reform Act to accompany the first introduction of the National Curriculum. The following guide has been particularly helpful for our overseas teachers.

Y = School years

Key Stage 0 (KS0)

Age 3–5. Y0.  Nursery / Reception (Early Years Foundation Stage)

Key Stage 1 (KS1)

Age 5–7. Y1–2. 1st–2nd form infants

Key Stage 2 (KS2)

Age 7–11. Y3–6. 1st–4th form juniors 11 plus (generally only for Grammar School entry)

Key Stage 3 (KS3)

Age 11–14. Y7–9. 1st–3rd form secondary

Key Stage (KS4)

Age 14–16. Y10–11. 4th–5th form secondary GCSEs

Key Stage (KS5)

Age 16–18. Y12–13. Sixth form secondary, FE college A-Levels, AS-Levels, NVQs, Diplomas

If you’re looking to work in the UK, fill in the form below for job offers.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Find your perfect job