EYFS: What is it?

whta is the early years foundation stage

EYFS is the acronym for Early Years Foundation Stage, but what is it and where does it apply?

It’s a framework created under the ChildCare Act of 2006 concerned with the learning, development and welfare of all children from birth to the age of five and applies to the following

  • Childminders
  • Day nurseries
  • Playgroups and holiday playschemes
  • Breakfast and after school clubs
  • School reception and nursery classes
  • Sure Start Children’s Centres

what is the early years foundation stage framework

What are the EYFS’s 4 main principals?

  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers.
  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.

What are the 7 main learning areas?

Educational programmes must involve activities and experiences for children, as follows

  • Communication and language development – giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.
  • Physical development – providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and make healthy choices in relation to food.
  • Personal, social and emotional development – helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.
  • Literacy development – encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.
  • Mathematics  – providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces, and measure.
  • Understanding the world – guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.
  • Expressive arts and design – enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.

If this blog interested you, we’ve got loads more that you can find here.

If EYFS sounds like an area which interests you, you can browse the jobs EYFS jobs we have around England and Wales.

Have you worked in EYFS?  What did/do you do? Do you have any top tips you’d like to share for anyone considering working into EYFS? Please do share them with the Prospero Community…